GEMS Flour

I love this flour blend – it works great in most baking – I can take my regular recipes with regular wheat flour, and substitute it cup for cup. Plus, it actually has nutrition! Many thanks to Wendy Turnbull for writing “Gems of Gluten Free Baking” cookbook – and to my Grandmother & Mom for making sure I got a copy. Definitely the book the buy to learn asbout gluten free baking. She even discusses the different flour types, their pros/cons, what they’re good for and storage advice.

The basic flour formula is:

2 3/4 cups of brown rice flour and 2/3 cup sorghum flour1
Plus
1/3 cup of one of the following flours: amaranth, buckwheat (light), gluten-free oat or teff (I use teff)
and
3 tbsp of one of the following flours: chickpea, millet, soy (low-fat or defatted), quinoa or white/red/black bean (I use millet)
– I tend to avoid using bean or soy flours due to friends being allergic, and I don’t like the taste.

My default substitute for regular flour is about half Gems flour and half equal parts of tapioca starch, potato starch and white rice flour.  Depending on if I want more of a whole grain taste, I will use up to 75% Gems flour in a recipe.  I also add about 1/2-1tsp guar or xanthan gum per 2cups flour.

One thought on “GEMS Flour

Leave a Reply

